Coronavirus Resources The campus is closed to the public, however services and instruction are still open and available online and by telephone.

FCC Making Graduation History at May 24 Commencement

May 21, 2019

FCC Making Graduation History at May 24 Commencement

The largest class in the 109-year history of Fresno City College will graduate this Friday, May 24 at 6:30 p.m. in Selland Arena. 

The Class of 2019 includes 1,946 graduates who will receive an Associate in Arts or an Associate in Science degree. That's an 18.4 percent increase over last year. Since 2016, the number of graduates has increased each year with 1,385 in 2016, 1,460 in 2017, 1,643 in 2018 and 1,946 this year. 

The number of certificates awarded this year also increased over 2018. There is a more than 20 percent increase in certificates from 2,062 last year to 2,478 this year. The Certificate Recognition Ceremony was held last Friday, May 17.

Included in the Class of 2019 are the nine Dean's Medallion Recipients who were chosen by the deans in each of the college's divisions. They are:

  • Ms.Pheng Vilaysack (Fresno), Allied Health, Physical Education and Athletics Division
  • Mr. Cesar A. Hernandez (Chowchilla), Applied Technology Division
  • Mr. Mando Manfredonia (Fresno), Business Education Division
  • Mr. Donald E. Murphy (Madera), Counseling and Guidance Division
  • Ms. Nadia Z. Al-Said (Fresno), Fine, Performing & Communication Arts Division
  • Mr. Sean A. McGuinness (Clovis), Humanities Division
  • Ms. Katelynn C. Adame (Fresno), Library & Student Learning Support Services Division
  • Ms. Victoria L. Rocha (Fresno), Social Sciences Division
  • Ms. Rocha was also awarded the Tony Cantu President's Medallion established in memory of the college's past president. Current president. Current president, Dr. Carole Goldsmith, determined the recipient. 

Distinguished Alumnus and Commencement Speaker

Dr. John E. Hurtado is this year's Distinguished Alumnus and Commencement Speaker. Hurtado transferred from Fresno City College in 1985 to San Diego State where he earned a Bachelor of Science degree in aerospace engineering. He then earned a master of science and a doctorate from Texas A&M University. Dr. Hurtago joined the Department of Aerospace Engineering at Texas A&M University in 2001. He is the interim head of the Department of Nuclear Engineering, Associate Dean for Academic Affairs in the College of Engineering, and a professor of aerospace engineering. 

His work is being used within solutions to practical aerospace engineering challenges at NASA and Sandia National Laboratories. His patented algorithms for swarm robotics were developed for unique miniature robots that the Smithsonian Institution recently obtained from Sandia National Laboratories for its permanent collection at the National Museum of American History. He is the co-owner of three U.S. patents.

Apply For Admission
Campus Map
Class Schedules
Faculty/staff Directory
Final Exam Schedule
Financial Aid
Human Resources
Institutional Research
Crime Alerts
Clery Report
District Police
Measure C
Other Colleges
Reedley College
Madera Center
Oakhurst Center
Clovis Community College
State Center Community
College District (SCCCD)
Progress & Performance
Associate Degree
For Transfer
Student Success
Institutional Research
and Effectiveness
Gainful Employment
Net Price Calculator