Firearms Instructor Course
- January 22 - 26, 2024 *Waitlisted*
- March 11 - 15, 2024
- May 13 - 17, 2024
Payable by two separate payees:
$129.00 Check payable to Fresno City College (Spring and Fall Classes)
Range Fee :
$115 Check payable to FPDRTC (Fresno Police Department Regional Training Center)
Fees include registration, health fee, material fees (if applicable), parking fees (if course is on campus). Fees can vary per semester. Fees are subject to change. Fees are based on California resident. Contact the Academy for out-of-state fees.
Fresno Police Department Regional Training Center
6375 W. Central
Fresno, California 93706
NOTE: Students signing up for this course need to supply a correct email address for those attending the course. Some pre-course information may be sent to you prior to the class by the instructors, so providing an email you check can be important.
Please call and cancel your reservations if you cannot attend. College Registration fees are subject to change without notice. Make checks payable to Fresno City College. Out of Consideration for people who are on a waiting list, please cancel your reservation no later than 21 days prior to the first day of class.
Sergeant Isaac Martinez, Fresno State Police Department
8:00 am to 5:00 pm
Course Description - AJ290
Designed to prepare the student with the fundamentals of teaching law enforcement firearms techniques to others and to create and administer a safe and quality Firearms Training Program. Demonstrates various shooting styles and updated instruction on the most effective contemporary techniques used in law enforcement today. Shows how to diagnose shooting problems through target analysis, and how to properly correct the problem.
Officers attending this course should be competent shooters in accuracy and gun handling skills. The course is not intended for a shooter who needs improvement in their shooting capabilities. Students will learn improved teaching techniques, lesson plans, shooting course development, reading poor shooters issues, and improving others to shoot at a standard required for law enforcement officers. The course does have a pre-test requirement that assesses the student’s ability to enter the course. A pre-test is given at the beginning of the 40-hour course, on the first day of the course, and students must successfully pass the pre-test to continue into the course. Those not passing the pre-test will not be allowed a re-test. See prerequisites section for link to pre-test information.
Equipment Needed for Firearms Instructor Course
- Department Handgun
- 1000 rounds of department ammo (target rounds - no reloads)
- Department Shotgun (with sling if you use them)
- 150 rounds of buckshot / 50 rounds of slugs (Birdshot can be used if unable to get buckshot)
All course attendees must bring the required shotgun ammunition, even if your Department does not carry shotguns (guns will be supplied).
- Ear and Eye protection
- Baseball style, billed cap to keep ejected rounds from falling upon shooters head/face
- Department duty belt with holster, ammo pouch, etc. (no Tasers, or O.C. on the range)
- At least three magazines for duty weapon
- Department issued Bullet Proof Vest
- Recommended clothing (hat, closed toed footwear, pants, - no shorts, V-neck shirts, or red colored shirts)
- Personal water containers, sun block, etc.
- Laptop (optional, but a thumb drive of materials will be given during the course)
- Padlock if you wish to lock up property during lunch or storage during class
A proper law enforcement type pistol holster is required. Soft nylon holsters commonly sold to civilians are not acceptable. Serpa holsters, or holsters with a similar index finger release, are strictly prohibited because of safety concerns.
A California Peace Officer Standards and Training Basic Course certificate issued from an accredited regional police academy or equivalent as determined by the division Dean or their appointee. These skills and knowledge base are related to adopted POST and/or industry standards. NOTE: Approval of equivalent training is not a guarantee state regulatory or licensing agencies will also grant equivalency.
A pre-test, or qualification, for the course will be given prior to the starting of the class on the first day of class. Students must qualify with a minimum of 80% to enter the class. Student shall be prepared for the course without warm-up or practicing the day of the class. All practice for the course shall be done prior to arrival. The pre-test is listed in writing on the below “Pre-Test for Course” link. Students not obtaining a passing course will not be allowed to continue into the course. No re-test is allowed. For those students wishing more information they can contact the academy prior to the class.
The pre-qualification prior to starting the class is mandatory with a passing score of 80 percent.