PC 832 Firearms Course

Dates

  • October 28 - 30, 2019
  • March 16 - 18, 2020
  • May 26 - 28, 2020
  • October 26 - 29, 2020

Cost - Paid to Separate Payees

FCC Fee: $35.00 Check payable to Fresno City College. (Fee may change due to semester)

Range: $54.00 Check payable to: FPDRTC (Fresno Police Department Regional Training Center)

Fees include registration, health fee, material fees (if applicable), parking fees (if course is on campus).  Fees can vary per semester.  Fees are subject to change.  Fees are based on California resident.  Contact the Academy for out-of-state fees.

NOTE: POST reimbursement suspended for this course

Location

Fresno Police Department Regional Training Center
6375 W. Central
Fresno, California 93706

Reservations

Reserve Your Seat

Please call and cancel your reservations if you cannot attend. College Registration fees are subject to change without notice. Make checks payable to Fresno City College. Out of Consideration for people who are on a waiting list, please cancel your reservation no later than 21 days prior to the first day of class.

Lead Instructor

Capt. Dennis Davenport, Fish & Wildlife (Ret.)

 

Certified Hours

24 Hours

8:00 am to 5:00 pm

 

Description

This course meets all the requirements of Section 832 of the California Penal Code and the California
Commission on Peace Officer Standards and Training (POST). Any position where the officer is required to have a firearm in their possession, or have access to one in the performance of their official duties requires this training.

Prerequisites

P.C. 13511.5 requires those students taking the firearms portion of PC 832 to have a California Department Of Justice (DOJ) fingerprint clearance check completed before class begins. Departments are required to submit or fax a clearance letter on departmental letterhead stating the student/employee has been cleared by DOJ during their department’s background hiring process. Non-department students must provide a copy of their DOJ clearance letter prior to enrollment in the class.

Required Equipment

Handgun:  Semi Automatic Weapon  9mm, 40 caliber, or 45 caliber.  The weapon must be California legal to carry weapon. 

Magazines: At least three magazines for the handgun you use in the course.

Holster: The holster will carry the weapon on shooting hand side of the belt at waist level.  The holster may be made of leather, Kydex, or nylon.  It must have a strop or way to secure the weapon in the holster.  Shoulder holsters, cross draw holster, ankle holsters, inside-the-waistband holsters, and thigh holsters are not allowed.

Magazine Pouch: The magazine pouch shall hold two magazines.

Ammunitions:  Six hundred rounds of ammunition will be required.  The ammunition must be good quality and not reloaded ammo.

Eye and Ear Shooting Protection:  All students must have their own eye and ear protection for the class.  Clear shooting or safety glasses are recommended.  Ear protection can be either shooting earmuffs or earplugs.  

NOTE: A proper law enforcement type pistol holster is required. Soft nylon holsters commonly sold to civilians are not acceptable. Serpa holsters, or holsters with a similar index finger release, are strictly prohibited because of safety concerns.