Historically Black Colleges and Universities

Spring 2024 Events

HBCU Caravan
Are you considering transferring to an Historically Black College or University? Meet with over 50 colleges.
Get accepted on the SPOT, Scholarships on the SPOT and Application fees waived as well.  
When: Febuary 13th, 2024. 1:30pm-3:30 pm
Where: OAB-251
For more information please contact The Transfer Center at Call: 559.442.8290

HBCU's are currently offering webinars varying from how to apply to a HBCU, exploring housing at a HBCU, to how to fund your HBCU education. The following link provides a calendar of webinars. Webinars

Podcast: Black and African American Student Success 
Each episode will feature powerful student stories and highlight the invaluable resources that can make a difference for students considering college or participating in a dual enrollment program. At every turn in every podcast, listeners will be directed to the ICanGoToCollege.com website for additional information related to enrollment and retention, financial aid, student resources and more.  

About HBCUs

Historically HBCUS were put into place to serve the education needs of the African American community. However, these universities are open to students of all ethnicities and they currently serve many students of diverse cultures and backgrounds. 

Eligibility Requirements

  • Attend a CA Community College
  • 2.5 GPA or higher
  • Completed 30 UC units or CSU units.

Or

  • Receive an Associates Degree to Transfer (ADT) using the IGETC or CSU general education breadth pattern. 
  • 2.5 GPA or higher 

Historically Black Colleges and Universities

Alabama State University
Randall Massey
District Recruiter & Transfer Specialist
Email: rmassey@alasu.edu
Office Phone: 334.229.4806

Stillman College
Karyn Nooks
Atlanta Regional Recruiter
Email: knooks@stillman.edu
Office Phone: 205.469.8757 
Cell Phone: 678.799.0188

Talladega College
Lon C. Weind
Email: lweind@talladega.edu
Office Phone: 256.761.8879
Cell Phone: 626.536.7837

Tuskegee University
Jessica Hudson
Admissions Counselor
Email: jhudson@tuskegee.edu
Office Phone: 334.724.4852

Arkansas Baptist College
James Burrell
Director of Admissions
Email:James.burrell@arkansasbaptist.edu

Philander Smith College
Mr. Yohannis Job
Interim Director of Admissions & Recruitment & Special Assistant to the President 
Email: yjob@philander.edu
Office Phone: 501.370.5211

Bethune-Cookman University
Carol Brown
Transfer Student Services Coordinator
Email: brownc@cookman.edu
Office Phone: 386.481.2105

Edward Waters College
Ricky Glover
Assistant Director of Admissions
Email: Ricky.glover@ewc.edu
Office Phone: 904.470.8205

Florida Memorial University
Courtenay McClain
Dir. Of Admissions
Email: Courtenay.mcclain@fmuniv.edu
Office Phone: 305.627.1168

Clark Atlanta University
Mr. Andra Brantley
Senior Assistant Director, Transfer Student Services
Email: abrantley@cau.edu
Office Phone: 404.880.6342

Fort Valley State University
Dennis Gillaird
Assistant Director of Recruitment & Operations
Email: dennis.gillaird@fvsu.edu
Office Phone: 478.825.6506

Kentucky State University
Jennifer Williams
Director of BREDS Office for Enrollment & Scholarships
Email: Jennifer.williams@kysu.edu
Office Phone: 502.597.6486

Dillard University
De’Idra Richard
Diversity Outreach Counselor
Email: drichard@dillard.edu
Office Phone: 504.816.4309

Grambling State University
Kenneth “Jemal” Ruffin
Assistant Director – Head Recruiter
Email: ruffink@gram.edu
Office Phone: 318.274.6108

Gilberto “GIL” Alvarado
Director of Admissions
Email: alvaradog@gram.edu
Office Phone: 318.274.2432 
Cell Phone: 704.213.3129 

Southern University at New Orleans
Jacoby Tubbs
Admissions Director
Email: Jtubbs@suno.edu
Office Phone: 504.286.5205

L’Oréal Evans
Admis Counselor/Recruiter
Email: levans@suno.edu
Office Phone: 504.286.5085

Southern University and A&M College
Dr. Runell King
Director of Recruitment
Email: Runell_king@subr.edu
Office Phone: 225.771.4500

Xavier University of Louisiana
Tamika Starks
Transfer Admissions Counselor
Email: Tstarks1@xula.edu
Office Phone: 504.520.7574

Bowie State University
Lawrence Webb
Admissions Counselor
Email: lwebb@bowiestate.edu
Office Phone: 301.860.3370

Alcorn State University
Mrs. Katangelia Tenner
Director for Admissions
Email: ksampson@alcorn.edu
Phone: 601.877.6148

Mississippi Valley State University
Danisha Williams,
Director of Admissions
Email: Danisha.williams@mvsu.edu
Phone: 662.254.3345

Tougaloo College
Joel Swan
Enrollment Officer
Email: jswan@tougaloo.edu
Phone: 601.977.7771

Harris Stowe University
Lance Smith
Transfer Coordinator
Email:SmithLan@hssu.edu
Office Phone: 314.340.3305

Lincoln University
Amanda Woods
Assistant Director
Email: woodsa@lincolnu.edu
Office Phone: 573.681.5017

Dr. Sonja Jackson
Dir. of Recruitment
Email: jacksons@lincolnu.edu
Office Phone: 573.681.5102

Bennett College
Jasmine Faison
Admissions Counselor/Recruiter
Email: jfaison@bennett.edu
Office Phone: 336.517.2167

Claflin University
Ebony Douglas
Transfer Admissions Counselor/Recruiter
Email: Ebony.james@claflin.edu
Office Phone: 803.535.5551

North Carolina Central University
Denettia Shaw
Dir. Office of Transfer Services
Email: Dshaw9@nccu.edu
Office Phone: 919.530.6687

Shaw University
Ashley Conner
Assoc. Dir. Of Admissions & Recruitment
Email: Ashley.conner@shawu.edu
Office Phone: 919.546.8357 
Cell Phone: 919.822.4134 

Central State University
Amanda McCombs
Enrollment Specialist
Email: amccombs@centralstate.edu
Office Phone: 937.376.6596

Lincoln University of Pennsylvania
Kenyatta Austin
Transfer Counselor
Email: kaustin@lincoln.edu
Office Phone: 484.365.7208 
Cell Phone: 484.746.0831 

Benedict College
Mrs. Keisha Montgomery
Director of Admissions and Recruitment
Email: Keisha.Montgomery@benedict.edu
Office Phone: 803.705.4910

Fisk University
Shawneis Jones
Admissions Counselor
Email: sjones@fisk.edu
Office Phone: 615.329.8815

Lane University
Derrick Mays
Director of Admissions
Email: dmays@lanecollege.edu
Office Phone: 731.426-7563

Tennessee State University
Charles “Alan” Lancaster
Assis. Dir. Of Recruitment
Email: clancaster@tnstate.edu
Office Phone: 615.963.5121

Huston-Tillotson University
Asia Haney
Interim Director of Admissions
Office of Admissions
Email: aehaney@htu.edu
Office Phone: 512.505.3023

Texas Southern University
Christopher London
Transfer Admissions Coordinator
Email: Christopher.london@tsu.edu
Office Phone: 713.313.1985

Wiley College
Shawana Hayes
Assistant to the AVP of Enrollment Services & Recruitment/Admissions Operations Coordinator
Email: Shayes1@wileyc.edu
Office Phone: 903.927.3291

Hampton University
Crystal Jones
Asst. Director of Admissions
Email: Crystal.jones@hamptonu.edu
Office Phone: 757.728.6912

Virginia State University
Angela Diggs
Director of Recruitment
Email: adiggs@vsu.edu
Office Phone: 804.524.5901 Ext: 5972

West Virginia State University
Jameelah Means 
Director of Admissions
Email: jmeans9@wvstateu.edu
Office Phone: 304.204.4341