Dual Enrollment - FREE COLLEGE!

Advancing Educational Achievement with Dual Enrollment

Fresno City College through the Office of Dual Enrollment forms a partnership with local K-12 districts that enables high school students to take college courses at their high school, free of tuition. High school students can be awarded both college credit and high school credit for the single course. 

Through this partnership, dual enrollment provides students with the opportunity to get a head start on their college education, to save time and money, and to experience the rigors of college coursework with support from the high schools and community college.  

High school students, please talk to your high school counselor about enrolling into the dual enrollment pathways.

Hours

Monday - Friday
8:00am - 5:00pm

Dual Enrollment Counselors:

Steven Caro
steven.caro@fresnocitycollege.edu

Kathy Trezza
kathy.trezza@fresnocitycollege.edu

Kathy Weise
kathy.weise@fresnocitycollege.edu

Alyssa Larios, DSPS
alyssa.larios@fresnocitycollege.edu 

Contact

Phone: 559.442.8272
Location: CTC Campus

Dr. Emily Berg
Director of Dual Enrollment
emily.berg@fresnocitycollege.edu 

Victoria Martinez
Coordinator of Dual Enrollment
victoria.martinez@fresnocitycollege.edu

 

Frequently Asked Questions

Fresno City College through the Office of Dual Enrollment forms a partnership with local K-12 districts that enables high school students to take college courses at their high school, free of tuition. High school students can be awarded both college credit and high school credit for the single course. 

Through this partnership, dual enrollment provides students with the opportunity to get a head start on their college education, to save time and money, and to experience the rigors of college coursework with support from the high schools and community college.  

FCC's Disabled Student Programs and Services creates an accessible, inclusive campus environment using holistic, comprehensive, strategic services to empower students with disabilities and provide them access to pursue their academic, personal, and vocational goals. Frequently asked questions including differences between high school and college for students with disabilities is available at DSPS Transition to College with discussion of the following topics:

  • applicable laws
  • required documentation
  • self-advocacy
  • parental role
  • instruction
  • grades and tests
  • study responsibilities

A high school IEP or 504 plan alone does not determine eligibility to receive academic accommodations in community college courses. DSPS Transition to College also has step-by-step instructions for high school students to become eligible to receive academic accommodations in community college courses.

Fresno City College partners with many different school districts throughout the Central Valley, and each high school has its own dual enrollment pathways for its students developed with Fresno City College.  Common pathways include transfer pathways with general education courses in addition to a wide variety of Career Technical Education pathways that range from business, education, construction, medical and sport sciences, and industrial technology pathways. 

Dual enrollment courses are different in that they are taught to the rigor of a college course. Students will be using the same college textbooks and syllabi as they would if they were taking a class at Fresno City College. The final grade the student receives in their dual enrollment class will be recorded on an official Fresno City College transcript.

High school students who participate in dual enrollment show statistically significant gains in the following areas:

  • Increased high school graduation rates 
  • Increased enrollment in higher education 
  • Increased retention in higher education 
  • Increased completion rates in higher education
  •  

There are two steps to registering for a dual enrollment class:

  1. Online Application: Your student will need to fill out a Dual Enrollment online application. This will allow Fresno City College to assign them a college ID, which is mandatory for enrollment.
  2. A Dual Enrollment Registration Packet For Registration each semester is mandatory if they want to take a dual enrollment course. These registration packets will be provided by their high school counselor and require a signature of the high school principal, high school counselor, student, and the student’s parent or guardian. 

Dual enrollment is an opportunity to take challenging courses and accelerate educational opportunities. Students who successfully complete dual enrollment courses receive many benefits. However, there are some possible disadvantages that all students must consider before enrolling in a dual enrollment class. A serious consideration that students and their families must realize is that dual enrollment courses become part of students’ permanent college transcripts; if students fail, these grades could affect eligibility for financial aid and admission to other postsecondary institutions. 

Another consideration is that dual enrollment classes receive college and high school credits. If students fail one of these classes, it will negatively affect both their high school and college transcripts. A final note is that if students need additional support to complete regular general education high school classes, adding the additional rigor of the college class may not be the best choice for them at that time. 

Students who are currently enrolled in high school and wish to take a college class at the same time are referred to as Special Admit Students. Fresno City College provides two means for Special Admit students to enroll in college classes: dual enrollment pathways and high school enrichment. For high school enrichment, individual students initiaties the application for individual classes, and for dual enrollment pathways, the high schools identify cohorts of students and the sequence of courses they take.  

Students wishing to take courses through Fresno City College outside of their high school or over the summer should apply for the High School Enrichment Program. Review the requirements and steps on the High School Enrichment page to submit your application and HSE packet.

Pathways by District & High School

Central H.S. East Campus

Contact: Jill Brooks - jbrooks@centralusd.k12.ca.us 

  • College & Career Readiness: Gen Ed-elective
  • CTE: Applied Technology Pathway
  • CTE: Business Pathway
  • CTE: Health Careers Pathway
  • CTE: Sports Medicine Pathway

Central H.S. West Campus

Contact: Shannon Monroe - smonroe@centralunified.org 

  • Transfer: Lib Arts Social Science 2 year Degree Pathway

Justin Garza H.S.

Contact: Jane Isaac - jisaac@centralunified.org 

  • CTE: Business Pathway

Aspen Ridge H.S.

Contact: Joshua Hodges - joshua.hodges@aspenps.org 

  • Transfer Pathway - General Ed

Big Picture H.S.

Contact: Yadira Herrera - yherrera@bphsf.org 

  • Transfer Pathway - General Ed

Center for Advanced Research & Tech (CART)

Contact: Vern Farley - vernefarley@cart.org 

  • CTE: Cybersecurity Pathway

Crescent View H.S.

Contact: Melanie Semper - msemper@cvwest.org 

  • CTE: Business Pathways
  • CTE: Health Pathways
  • CTE: Medical Pathways
  • Transfer Pathway

West Park Charter Academy

Contact: Kameron Brooks - kameron_b@wpesd.org 

  • CTE: Business Technology Pathways
  • Transfer Pathway

Yosemite Valley H.S.

Contact: Carmen Marroquin - carmen.marroquin@yosemitevalleycharter.org 

  • Transfer Pathway

Minarets H.S.

Contact: Caudia VanDenBergh - cvandenbergh@mychawanakee.org 

  • Transfer Pathway

Clovis H.S.

Contact: Todd Deck - todddeck@clovisusd.k12.ca.us 

  • CTE: Residential and Commercial Construction Pathway
  • CTE: Systems Diagnostics, Service, and Repair

Clovis East H.S.

Contact: Kendall East - joeflint@clovisusd.k12.ca.us 

  • CTE: Systems Diagnostics, Service, and Repair

Clovis West H.S.

Contact: Joe Flint -KendallEast@cusd.com  

  • CTE: Emergency Response

CART (Center for Advanced Research and Technology)

Contact: Rick Watson -rwatson@cart.org 

  • CTE: Applied Technology

Alice Worseley H.S.

Contact: Rene Moncada - rene.moncada@fresnocitycollege.edu 

  • Transfer Pathways - General Education

CTEC - Career Technical Education Charter H.S.

Contact: Stefani Bernard - sbernard@fcoe.org 

  • CTE: Industrial Tech Pathways - Applied Tech

Bullard H.S.

Contact: Ralph Vasquez - ralph.vasquez@fresnounified.org 

  • CTE: Criminology / Law Enforcement Pathway
  • CTE: Media, & Multimedia, Design Pathway

Contact: Whitney Godfirnon - whitney.godfirnon@fresnounified.org 

  • Transfer: General College - Transfer Pathway

Cambridge H.S.

Contact: Issalia Wood - issalia.wood@fresnounified.org 

  • Transfer: General College - Transfer Pathway

Design Science Middle College H.S.

Contact: Gloria Rodriguez - gloria.rodriguez@fresnocitycollege.edu 

  • Transfer: General College - Transfer Pathway

Dewolf H.S.

Contact: Jodie Garabedian - jodie.garabedian@fresnounified.org 

  • Transfer: General College - Transfer Pathway

Duncan Polytechnical H.S.

Contact: Cara Jurardo - cara.jurado@fresnounified.org 
  • CTE: Eco and Applied Technology Pathway
  • CTE: Engineering Design & Development Pathway

Contact: Thomas Yang - thomas.yang@fresnounified.org 

  • Transfer: General College - Transfer Pathway

Edison H.S.

Contact: Troy Odell - troy.odell@fresnounified.org 

  • CTE: Medical Science, Health and Biomedicine Pathway
  • CTE: Sports Medicine Pathways

Contact: Kaysee Potter - kaysee.potter@fresnounified.org 

  • Transfer: General College - Transfer Pathway

Fresno H.S.

Contact: Keisha Shabazz - keisha.shabazz@fresnounified.org 

  • CTE: Eco and Applied Technology Pathway

Hoover H.S.

Contact: Kathryn Wortman - kathryn.wortman@fresnounified.org 

  • CTE: Criminology / Law Enforcement Pathway
  • CTE: Media, & Multimedia, Design Pathway
  • CTE: Safety Pathway

Contact: Sheng Her - sheng.her@fresnounified.org

  • Transfer: General College - Transfer Pathway

J.E. Young Academic Center

Contact: Jodie Garabedian - jodie.garabedian@fresnounified.org 

  • CTE: Business & Information Pathway
  • Transfer: General College - Transfer Pathway

McLane H.S.

Contact: Mono Arun - monorith.arun@fresnounified.org 

  • CTE: Business & Information Technology Pathway
  • CTE: Education Pathway
  • CTE: Media, & Multimedia, Design Pathway
  • CTE: Medical Science, Health and Biomedicine Pathway

Contact: Andrea Flores - andrea.flores@fresnounified.org 

  • College & Career Readiness: General College - Transfer Pathway
  • Transfer: General College - Transfer Pathway

Roosevelt H.S.

Contact: Dina Scambray - dina.scambray@fresnounified.org 

  • CTE: Education Pathway
  • CTE: Medical Science, Health and Biomedicine Pathway
  • CTE: Sports Medicine Pathways

Contact: Esmeralda Castillo - esmeralda.castillo@fresnounified.org 

  • Transfer: General College - Transfer Pathway

Sunnyside H.S.

Contact: Floridia Cheung - floridia.cheung@fresnounified.org 

  • CTE: Media, & Multimedia, Design Pathway
  • CTE: Medical Science, Health and Biomedicine Pathway

Contact: Amanda Peterson - amanda.peterson@fresnounified.org 

  • Transfer: General College - Transfer Pathway

Kerman H.S.

Contact: Roxy Jimenez - alexandria.jimenez@kermanusd.com 

  • CTE: Agricultural Mechanics Pathway
  • Transfer: Transfer Pathways - General Ed

Madera H.S.

Contact: Amanda Ramirez - amandaramirez@maderausd.org 

  • CTE: Culinary Pathways - Nutrition / Health

For all schools below, contact: Maria Meraz - mmeraz@valleyrop.net

Corcoran H.S.

  • CTE: Medical Pathways

Dinuba H.S.

  • CTE: Construction Pathways
  • CTE: Medical Pathways
  • CTE: Pathways - Employment Opp Prep
  • CTE: Photography / Media Pathways
  • CTE: Public Safety Pathways
  • CTE: Technical Pathways / Computers

Kingsburg H.S.

  • CTE: Construction Pathways
  • CTE: Health Pathways
  • CTE: Medical Pathways
  • CTE: Photography / Media Pathways

Orange Cove H.S.

  • CTE: Health Pathways
  • CTE: Media Pathways
  • CTE: Medical Pathways

Orosi H.S.

  • CTE: MEDIA PATHWAYS

Parlier H.S.

  • CTE: Medical Pathways

Reedley H.S.

  • CTE: Media Pathways
  • CTE: Medical Pathways
  • CTE: Photography / Media Pathways
  • CTE: Public Safety Pathways

Sanger H.S.

  • CTE: Media Pathways
  • CTE: Public Safety Pathways

Selma H.S.

  • CTE: Construction Pathways
  • CTE: Pathways - Employment Opp Prep
  • CTE: Media Pathways
  • CTE: Medical Pathways
  • CTE: Public Safety Pathways
  • CTE: Technical Pathways / Computers

Redwood H.S.

Contact: Alexa Barba - abarba@vusd.org 

  • CTE: Media Pathways

El Diamante H.S.

Contact: Milee Vang - mvang01@vusd.org 

  • CTE: Media Pathways

Washington Union H.S.

Contact: Steven Rizzo - srizzo@wusd.ws 

  • CTE: Medical Pathways
  • Transfer Pathways