Dual Enrollment

Students wishing to take courses through Fresno City College outside of their high school or over the summer should apply for the
High School Enrichment Program.
Review the requirements and steps on the High School Enrichment page to submit your application and HSE packet.

 Not sure which concurrent enrollment program is right for you? Learn the differences between 
Dual Enrollment vs High School Enrichment.

FCC - Dual Enrollment for Equity & Prosperity (DEEP)

Bringing K-12, Industry, and Higher Education Together for Student Success. The Dual Enrollment Program at Fresno City College allows qualified high school students to earn college and high school credits at the same time while still attending High School.

Apply Online

Hours

Monday - Friday
8:00am - 4:00pm

Contact

Phone: 559.442.8272

Email: Victoria Martinez
Location: T-100 Building

Frequently Asked Questions

The term dual enrollment refers to students being enrolled—concurrently—in two different educational institutions. This means that a student enrolled in high school may be dual enrolled at a local institution of higher learning, in this case Fresno City College. If students pass their college classes, they receive credit that may be applied toward their high school diploma and toward a college degree or certificate.

No. Currently most classes designated as dual enrollment are offered on your student’s high school campus and if your student needs to travel, you will be notified and a signature will be required for transportation purposes.  Most courses will take place during the student’s regular school day/hours.

Courses vary at every high school. Some of the high schools are offering dual enrollment “CTE” pathways for vocational training such as: Auto, Construction & Welding while others are offering “Transfer Pathways” these are general education dual enrollment classes to prepare students for Universities. Please check with your high school counselor as to what dual enrollment courses are offered at your school.

Dual enrollment courses are different in that they are taught to the rigor of a college course. Students will be using the same college textbooks and syllabi as they would if they were taking a class at Fresno City College. As such, please be aware that discussion topics and course materials are generally designed for adult students and may not be appropriate for younger students. Assignments will be graded using college rubrics and standards. The final grade the student receives in their dual enrollment class will be recorded on an official Fresno City College transcript.

There are many advantages to participating in dual enrollment.

  • In some cases, the student may be able to attain an Associate’s degree at the same time or shortly after their high school graduation.
  • Dual enrollment is a cost‐efficient way for students to accumulate college credits because courses are free and taken through the local high school.
  • Participation in dual enrollment may ease the transition from high school to college by giving students a sense of what college academics are like.

Dual enrollment is a great option for many high school students. However, there are some things to be aware of when taking a dual enrollment course.

  • If a student fails one of these classes it will negatively affect them on their high school transcripts and college transcripts.
  • Too many failed dual enrollment classes and too many “W” withdrawals will jeopardize future college enrollment and possibly financial aid.
  • If a student needs additional support in High School and is failing English, Math and overall has low grades, then college class may not be the best choice.
  • Financial aid has a 90 unit limit and thus dual enrollment courses must be carefully selected with the advice of a high school and college counselor.

There are 2 steps to registering for a dual enrollment class.

  1. Online Application: Your student will need to fill out a “Dual Enrollment” online college application at www.fresnocitycollege.edu . This will allow Fresno City College to assign them a college ID which is mandatory for enrollment.
  2. A Dual Enrollment Paper Registration Packet-Registration each semester is mandatory if they want to take a dual enrollment course. These paper registration packets will be provided by their high school counselor and require a signature of the High School Principal, High School Counselor, Student, and the student’s Parent/Guardian. Registration forms missing one or more signature will be returned and the student will not be enrolled in the desired dual enrollment class.

Remember: Participating in a dual enrollment class is an important decision and should involve a conversation between the student, the parent/guardian, and that student’s High School counselor.

Coordination with Local High Schools

Architecture Student
Architecture Student
Automotive Student
Automotive Student
Photo student
Photo student

Pathways by District & High School

Click on your school district.  The high schools within the district are listed alphabetically.  See what pathways each high school is currently offering.  Courses are not offered every semester.  Talk to your high school counselor to see what's available.

Central H.S. East Campus

Contact: Jill Brooks - jbrooks@centralusd.k12.ca.us

  • College & Career Readiness: Gen Ed-elective
  • CTE: Applied Technology Pathway
  • CTE: Business Pathway
  • CTE: Health Careers Pathway
  • CTE: Sports Medicine Pathway

Central H.S. West Campus

Contact: Shannon Monroe - smonroe@centralunified.org
  • Transfer: Lib Arts Social Science 2 year Degree Pathway

Aspen Ridge H.S.

Contact: Joshua Hodges - joshua.hodges@aspenps.org
  • Transfer Pathway - General Ed

Big Picture H.S.

Contact: Yadira Herrera - yherrera@bphsf.org
  • Transfer Pathway - General Ed

Center for Advanced Research & Tech (CART)

Contact: Vern Farley - vernefarley@cart.org
  • CTE: Cybersecurity Pathway

Crescent View H.S.

Contact: Melanie Semper - msemper@cvwest.org
  • CTE: Business Pathways
  • CTE: Health Pathways
  • CTE: Medical Pathways
  • Transfer Pathway

West Park Charter Academy

Contact: Kameron Brooks - kameron_b@wpesd.org
  • CTE: Business Technology Pathways
  • Transfer Pathway

Yosemite Valley H.S.

Contact: Carmen Marroquin - carmen.marroquin@yosemitevalleycharter.org
  • Transfer Pathway

Minarets H.S.

Contact: Caudia VanDenBergh - cvandenbergh@mychawanakee.org
  • Transfer Pathway

Clovis H.S.

Contact: Todd Deck - todddeck@clovisusd.k12.ca.us
  • CTE: Residential and Commercial Construction Pathway
  • CTE: Systems Diagnostics, Service, and Repair

Clovis East H.S.

Contact: Joe Flint - joeflint@clovisusd.k12.ca.us
  • CTE: Emergency Response

Alice Worseley H.S.

Contact: Rene Moncada - rene.moncada@fresnocitycollege.edu
  • Transfer Pathways - General Education

CTEC - Career Technical Education Charter H.S.

Contact: Stefani Bernard - sbernard@fcoe.org
  • CTE: Industrial Tech Pathways - Applied Tech

Bullard H.S.

Contact: Ralph Vasquez - ralph.vasquez@fresnounified.org

  • CTE: Criminology / Law Enforcement Pathway
  • CTE: Media, & Multimedia, Design Pathway

Contact: Whitney Godfirnon - whitney.godfirnon@fresnounified.org

  • Transfer: General College - Transfer Pathway

Cambridge H.S.

Contact: Issalia Wood - issalia.wood@fresnounified.org

  • Transfer: General College - Transfer Pathway

Design Science Middle College H.S.

Contact: Gloria Rodriguez - gloria.rodriguez@fresnocitycollege.edu

  • Transfer: General College - Transfer Pathway

Dewolf H.S.

Contact: Jodie Garabedian - jodie.garabedian@fresnounified.org

  • Transfer: General College - Transfer Pathway

Duncan Polytechnical H.S.

Contact: Cara Jurardo - cara.jurado@fresnounified.org
  • CTE: Eco and Applied Technology Pathway
  • CTE: Engineering Design & Development Pathway

Contact: Thomas Yang - thomas.yang@fresnounified.org

  • Transfer: General College - Transfer Pathway

Edison H.S.

Contact: Troy Odell - troy.odell@fresnounified.org

  • CTE: Medical Science, Health and Biomedicine Pathway
  • CTE: Sports Medicine Pathways
Contact: Kaysee Potter - kaysee.potter@fresnounified.org
  • Transfer: General College - Transfer Pathway

Fresno H.S.

Contact: Keisha Shabazz - keisha.shabazz@fresnounified.org

  • CTE: Eco and Applied Technology Pathway

Hoover H.S.

Contact: Kathryn Wortman - kathryn.wortman@fresnounified.org

  • CTE: Criminology / Law Enforcement Pathway
  • CTE: Media, & Multimedia, Design Pathway
  • CTE: Safety Pathway

Contact: Sheng Her - sheng.her@fresnounified.org

  • Transfer: General College - Transfer Pathway

J.E. Young Academic Center

Contact: Jodie Garabedian - jodie.garabedian@fresnounified.org
  • CTE: Business & Information Pathway
  • Transfer: General College - Transfer Pathway

McLane H.S.

Contact: Mono Arun - monorith.arun@fresnounified.org

  • CTE: Business & Information Technology Pathway
  • CTE: Education Pathway
  • CTE: Media, & Multimedia, Design Pathway
  • CTE: Medical Science, Health and Biomedicine Pathway

Contact: Andrea Flores - andrea.flores@fresnounified.org

  • College & Career Readiness: General College - Transfer Pathway
  • Transfer: General College - Transfer Pathway

Roosevelt H.S.

Contact: Dina Scambray - dina.scambray@fresnounified.org
  • CTE: Education Pathway
  • CTE: Medical Science, Health and Biomedicine Pathway
  • CTE: Sports Medicine Pathways

Contact: Esmeralda Castillo - esmeralda.castillo@fresnounified.org

  • Transfer: General College - Transfer Pathway

Sunnyside H.S.

Contact: Floridia Cheung - floridia.cheung@fresnounified.org

  • CTE: Media, & Multimedia, Design Pathway
  • CTE: Medical Science, Health and Biomedicine Pathway

Contact: Amanda Peterson - amanda.peterson@fresnounified.org

  • Transfer: General College - Transfer Pathway

Kerman H.S.

Contact: Roxy Jimenez - alexandria.jimenez@kermanusd.com

  • CTE: Agricultural Mechanics Pathway
  • Transfer: Transfer Pathways - General Ed

Madera H.S.

Contact: Amanda Ramirez - amandaramirez@maderausd.org

  • CTE: Culinary Pathways - Nutrition / Health

For all schools below, contact: Maria Meraz - mmeraz@valleyrop.net

Corcoran H.S.

  • CTE: Medical Pathways

Dinuba H.S.

  • CTE: Construction Pathways
  • CTE: Medical Pathways
  • CTE: Pathways - Employment Opp Prep
  • CTE: Photography / Media Pathways
  • CTE: Public Safety Pathways
  • CTE: Technical Pathways / Computers

Kingsburg H.S.

  • CTE: Construction Pathways
  • CTE: Health Pathways
  • CTE: Medical Pathways
  • CTE: Photography / Media Pathways

Orange Cove H.S.

  • CTE: Health Pathways
  • CTE: Media Pathways
  • CTE: Medical Pathways

Orosi H.S.

  • CTE: MEDIA PATHWAYS

Parlier H.S.

  • CTE: Medical Pathways

Reedley H.S.

  • CTE: Media Pathways
  • CTE: Medical Pathways
  • CTE: Photography / Media Pathways
  • CTE: Public Safety Pathways

Sanger H.S.

  • CTE: Media Pathways
  • CTE: Public Safety Pathways

Selma H.S.

  • CTE: Construction Pathways
  • CTE: Pathways - Employment Opp Prep
  • CTE: Media Pathways
  • CTE: Medical Pathways
  • CTE: Public Safety Pathways
  • CTE: Technical Pathways / Computers

Redwood H.S.

Contact: Alexa Barba - abarba@vusd.org
  • CTE: Media Pathways

El Diamante H.S.

Contact: Milee Vang - mvang01@vusd.org
  • CTE: Media Pathways

Washington Union H.S.

Contact: Steven Rizzo - srizzo@wusd.ws
  • CTE: Medical Pathways
  • Transfer Pathways

Apply

Architecture, Automotive, Web Design are a few of the topics available.

Dual Enrollment Brochure

Dual Enrollment Handbook

Apply Online

High School Students

There are 2 steps to registering for a dual enrollment class:

  1. Application: You need to fill out an online college application. This will allow Fresno City College to assign you a college ID which is mandatory for enrollment. Also you must complete a Dual Enrollment paper application each college semester you want to take a dual enrollment course. These paper application packets will be provided by your high school counselor.
  2. Registration: Class registration forms will be given to you by your high school counselor and require a signature of the high school principal, high school counselor, yourself, and your parent or guardian. Registration forms missing one or more signatures will be returned and you will not be enrolled in the desired dual enrollment class.

We hope this clarifies the differences between a regular education class and the dual enrollment course. It is important to follow the steps to enroll in each dual enrollment class. For additional questions, contact your high school counselor.

Sample Registration Form